Current players

Published on August 16th, 2013 | by Staples Soccer


Jack Scott Wins Octathlon 2013 — His 2nd Straight Crown

A strong performance — snagging 14 out of 20 scavenger hunt items — gave Jack Scott, Yousef Shahin and Noah Schwaeber a win in today’s final Octathlon of Champions event.

That victory earned Jack his 2nd straight overall Octathlon title. Head coach Dan Woog announced that the event will hereafter be called the “Jack Scott Octathlon of Champions.”

The scavenger hunt — created by Woog — included:

  • A grave rubbing from someone who died before the Civil War (so the 1867 rubbing submitted by one team did not count)
  • Painting “2010” on the list of 27 FCIAC championships on the Loeffler Field kickboard (Jack’s team got there a few seconds before Charlie Leonard, George Kokallis and Sterling Price)
  • A text message from the real Kyle Martino ’99 (he sent a selfie to Diego Alanis, Matt Bateman and James Rubin)
  • Proof of crossing the Saugatuck River pedestrian bridge, leading from the railroad station to East Ferry Lane
  • The Westport town seal
  • Something religious, from any Westport church or synagogue
  • Anything Scandinavian
  • A live animal of any kind, other than a human being (the 4 teams produced a dog, an ant, a crab and a goldfish)

“I’m amazed how much every team accomplished in the 2-hour time limit,” Woog said. “This was a real test of problem-solving, creativity and teamwork.”

The Octathlon consisted of 1 event each month, beginning in January. They included bowling, 3-on-3 basketball, and a 5K race. A different player was responsible for creating each of the 1st 7 Octos.

Jack Scott finished with 109 points overall. In 2nd place was Foster Goldberg (75), followed by Sterling Price (69).

There was a 3-way tie for 4th: Diego Alanis, Noah Schwaeber and Yousef Shahin (68 each).

Trailing them were George Kokkalis and Charlie Leonard (52 points), Sebo Hood (46), Bobby Jacowleff (44), Matt Bateman (43), Daniel Boyce (39), James Rubin (34), Andrew Puchala (24), Steven Sobel (23), Ryan Ruggiano and Connor Weiler (16), Patrick Beusse (14), Robby Giannone and Ethan Kobak (13), Gabe Pensak (12), Nate Argosh (6); Jordan McNair and Michael Reid (1).

The 3rd annual Jack Scott Octathlon of Champions begins next January.


Kyle Martino selfie sent to Diego Alanis

Comments are closed.